Are you a team player?

How do you know if you are a team player and a member who can help the improvement of the team. In fact, everyone thinks they’re a team player. But we know that’s not true. Some people are so consumed in their own jobs, they forget to support their team. And let’s face it, it is not easy to be part of a Team.

So, are you really a team player? Or do you just think you are? How about taking a test to find out?!
When taking the quiz, it is important to be honest.  Your answer will show you what areas may need some work.

Read each of the following statements and respond to each by asking yourself if you feel this way:

Most of the Time = Give yourself 3 points
Sometimes = Give yourself 2 points
Never = Give yourself 1 point

1. When I see my teammates struggling, I offer to help no matter how busy I am with my own work.
2. When a task needs to be done and no one else wants to do it, I volunteer.
3. I always offer my opinion but I am willing to compromise for the good of the team.
4. When everyone else is working late on a project I’m involved with, I will usually stick around too.
5. When I receive praise, I am quick to share credit with my teammates.
6. I feel that team goals are just as important as my individual goals.
7. I want to see my fellow team members succeed.
8. I enjoy working with the people on my team.
9. I respect the people on my team and appreciate their unique opinions, perspectives and ways of doing things.
10. I feel that my work is better when I’m working with my team.

Now count your points.

25 to 30 points

Congratulations! You’ve got team work down to a science. You recognize the importance of supporting and contributing to your team. You’ve built some strong relationships, established a reputation for being a hard worker, and you’ve really got your priorities straight. Your teammates certainly appreciate it.

20 to 24 points

Well done! You’re on your way to being a truly strong team player. Right now, you’re a team player some of the time. While that’s perfectly acceptable, it’s not ideal. Your team needs to depend on you. They need to know that you’re a part of the team always. Contributing only occasionally might even be counterproductive. After all, you want to show that you’re a loyal and enthusiastic member, not just a “fair weather” friend.

10 to 19 points

Ok, how do I put this gently…? You probably won’t be voted MVP anytime soon. You might be one of those people who think they’re a team player but really, you’re not quite following through on the actions. You answered “sometimes” or “never” quite a bit on this test. Maybe you’re getting along just fine this way – you’re doing your job and getting things done. But remember that being a part of a strong team can be an incredible asset in the future. You may be doing fine right now, but once you hit a rough patch, where will you be? If you’ve been contributing and supporting your team, they’ll step up and help you when things are tough.

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

